It’s time for the All Star break and the Pro All Stars will take a break of their own prior to heading into a three-week stretch that will go a long way toward determining the 2002 series champion. The PASS travels to White Mountain Motorsports Park on Saturday July 20th for the D-J Equipment 150, a race that’s sure to bring out many new faces and provide some of the seasons most exciting racing to date. Look for over 40 of the Northeast’s top Pro Stocks to attempt to qualify for this “night before the Cup” special event. The action goes green at the North Woodstock oval at 6 PM. The scenic Route 3 quarter mile is just a short ride north on Interstate 93 from the Magic Mile.


The PASS returns to Unity Raceway on Saturday July 27th for their second 150-lap appearance at the fairgrounds oval and Kenny Wright will be looking for a repeat victory in the Newmarket Sand and Gravel Machine. Wright was dogged by current series point leader Ben Rowe for much of the June event but kept the point and showed Rowe the way to the checkers for his first career Pro All Stars victory. Sunoco Race Fuels time trials get underway at 4:30 followed by racing at 6:00 PM.


Star Speedway sets the scene for the Pro All Stars return to the Granite State on Saturday August 3rd. Ben Rowe became the series’ first repeat winner in the June appearance at Star, though Louie Mechalides’ Cushman Competition Ford looked like the car to beat for over 100 laps. Brake problems slowed Mechalides to a sixth place finish but he’ll be back and loaded for bear in August. Local favorites JR Baril and Dan Bezanson will be looking to improve on their fifth and eleventh place finishes, respectively. 2001 Pro All Stars Champion Sam Sessions got up to Rowe’s quarter panel on several occasions as the race wound down, and the veteran campaigner could score a breakthrough PASS victory in any one of the three events. Time Trials get underway at 3:30 Pm with racing set to go green at 4:30 PM.


Ninety-two drivers have attempted to qualify for one or more of the first seven

Pro All Stars Series events. The first seven races on the 2002 tour have produced five different winners with Gary Drew, Kenny Wright, Dave Gorveatt and Scott Chubbuck each taking a turn atop the podium while Ben Rowe has made three trips to victory lane. Northern Race Tires Rookie Challenge candidates Johnny Clark and Wayne Helliwell Jr. are both knocking on the door to victory circle, as is Chuck LaChance, Larry Gelinas, Scott Mulkern, Sessions and Mechalides. The second half of the season promises to be filled with action and excitement as “The Big Dawgs” of the Pro All Stars Series race toward their Championship showdown at Oxford Plains Speedway on Sunday September 22nd.