Charlottetown Prince Edward Islands’ Dave Gorveatt made his move on Scott Mulkhern on lap 144 of the Pro All Stars 150 at Quebec’s Autodrome Montmagny and went on to record his first career Pro All Stars Series victory, beating Mulkhern and rookie Wayne Helliwell Jr. to the stripe.


Ben Rowe had the car to beat, earning the Sunoco Race Fuels fast time award with a lap of 16.695 seconds, over a tenth quicker than Sam Sessions’ 16.803 lap. Louis Mechalides timed in third with Larry Gelinas and Russ Hersey rounding out the top five. Sessions claimed the pole dash victory over Rowe, with Mechalides third (but now crippled with engine woes} Helliwell fourth and Kenny Wright fifth on the grid. Rowe got the jump on the start and kept his Mechanical Services/High Tech Chevrolet on the point for 144 laps, holding Sessions, Wright, Mulkern and a host of others at bay. Sessions left the event after a hard crash on lap 26, sustaining extensive damage to the Sud’n Racing machine, while on-track tangles and flat tires took their toll on Wright and Gelinas. Rowes’ dominant day ended with a flat tire on lap 144 opening the door for second place runner Scott Mulkern. But Gorveatt was not to be denied and he muscled his Monte Carlo past Mulkern’s Dodge on the restart and held him at bay for the run to the checkers. Gorveatt worked his XR-4/P.E.I. Potato Growers Monte Carlo up from 17th on the grid to earn the victory, the fourth different winner in the season’s first four Pro All Stars events.

Rowe powered his way back through the field to finish fourth, while Johnny Clark continued his skein of consistent runs with a fifth place finish. Kenny Wright salvaged a sixth place finish after running in the top three, besting Richie Dearborn in seventh. Bill Rogers marked his return to the PASS with an eighth place with Walt Hammond Jr. and Larry Gelinas rounding out the top ten.

Heat Race winners were Doug Averill and Randy Turner. Wayne Helliwell Jr.’s third place finish earned the Northern Race Tires Rookie Challenge award.

 The Pro All Stars Series takes a weekend off before returning to action on June 22nd at Speedway 95 for the Clay GMC 150. For more information, please log on to www.proallstarsseries.com


ORDER OF FINISH (unofficial) Pro All Stars Series Race #4 – PASS 150 – Autodrome Montmagny – Montmagny P.Q. Canada 1) Dave Gorveatt 2) Scott Mulkern 3) Wayne Helliwell Jr. 4) Ben Rowe 5) Johnny Clark 6) Kenny Wright 7) Richie Dearborn 8) Bill Rogers 9) Walt Hammond Jr. 10) Larry Gelinas 11) George Philbrick 12) David Avery 13) Randy Turner 14) Marc Beaudoin 15) Bub Bilodeau 16) Russ Hersey 17) Mike Parks 18) Chuck LaChance 19) Doug Averill 20) Ron Nason 21) Scott Alexander 22) Sam Sessions 23) Rob Cowett 35) Smith 36) Louis Mechalides