CONTACT: BOBBY WALKER 207-539-8865 ops1@megalink.net

August 17, 2002


OXFORD, ME---The 2002 title of Mr. Supermodified might just be a locked in name for Fremont, New Hampshire superstar Mike Ordway. He's been the hottest thing going in the land of speed and the International Super Modified Association national tour and Saturday night he added another feather in his cap. He led the final 28 laps in route to his second consecutive Maine Classic 100 title at Oxford Plains Speedway in front of one of the biggest crowds of the year at the famed 3/8-mile Oxford, Maine oval. He won his 10 lap qualifying race, started 10th in the 26 car finale and waited for the right opportunity to claim the top spot and then drove to a 1.3 second victory over Dave McKnight who laid claim to the Mr. Supermodified handle in 2001. Four caution flags kept the field somewhat grouped together, laps 4, 23, 29, and 84, but the top five were in a class by themselves on this particular race night. Kenny Bell led the first seven laps, but he'd go down a lap late in the going. Brad Lichty then took the top spot and for a while opened up a 1/2 lap lead over the majority of the 800 horsepower creations. Tire management is a tantamount items in the Supermodified world and that's where Ordway seems to have the upper hand. His Clyde Booth owned rocket was in the running, then simply the best car on the speedway. "We got loose over the final 15 laps and I was just hanging on for dear life, but everybody else was in the same boat so we were good when we needed to be," said the former ISMA driving champion. Greg Furlong moved to the third position in the final five laps, adding to his spectacular weekend after winning at Lee USA on Friday night. Jim Shirey was fourth after racing there most of the night although he fell to sixth for a handful of laps in heavy lapped traffic and Chris Perley eventually regained the fifth spot.

Gary Drew jumped back into the chase for the 2002 driving championship in the Oxford Network Pro Stock division with a win in the 35 lap feature event. Dennis Dee led the first nine circuits, but gave up the top spot to Bub Bilodeau on the restart of the only caution flag in the event. Bilodeau then set the pace until lap 30 when Mike Maietta Sr. took over. But then Drew emerged from the traffic tight pack two laps later to claim the lead and then quickly moved to a two length over Maietta over the final three circuits. Maietta's runner up role was his third such accomplishment of the season with Bilodeau third. Scott Moore then got around Scott Robbins on the final lap for fourth and Robbins rounded out the top five.

Ricky Morse won the close encounters over the final five laps and drove to his second win of the year in the 30 lap Late Model Stock car main event. John Thurlow led laps one and two and then Mike Stickney took command. He slipped high on lap 12 and rookie Shawn Martin led from lap 13 until Terry Merrill posted his Chevrolet as the leader and he kept it until Morse would lead lap for a single lap. Merrill retook the top spot on lap 28, but they made contact on lap 33 with Merrill done for the night and Chris Hatstat there to challenge Morse. He had nothing for the leader and Shawn Martin took second in the process with Hatstat third. Ron Charpentier Jr. made a run at the top three, but settled for fourth instead and Mike Short got up to fifth at the finish line.

Don Poulin Jr. led wire to wire in the non stop 25 lap Limited Sportsman race. Kurt Hewins stayed second for the exact same time period and Richie Morse made a new points race materialize when he finished third and Shane Green ended up 16th. Troy Morse was fourth and Dana Grover also stayed in the points battle with a fifth place finish.

David Tripp had no trouble in winning the opening of two Strictly Stock 20 lap main events. Phil Mitchell III was second, although several car lengths back and Peter Hafford was third. Only a lap one caution flag slowed the event that saw Jeff Merrill and Rusty Gaghan round out the top five. Family Feud is how they'll describe the second 20 lap main event. Bill Childs Sr. beat out Billy Childs Jr. by a half car length after the father and son duo raced side by side for the final three laps. Point leader Jimmy Duguay was third, Shawn Knight fourth after starting dead last in the 22 car field and defending series champion Larry Emerson rounded out the top five.

Billy Thibeault was the third and final leader in the 20 lap Mini Stock event. He got the lead on lap 15 when then leader Jeff Moon lost power on the restart and sat stranded in the infield. Terry Warren then took over the second spot and maintained it for the duration with Steve Barker third. Chris Morris and Billy Mooney rounded out the top five.



1. Mike Ordway Freemont, NH

2. Dave McKnight Brampton, ONT

3. Greg Furlong Hannibal, NY

4. Jim Shirey Oberlin, OH

5. Chris Perley Rowley, MASS

6. Joey Payne Hawthorne, NJ

7. Brad Lichty Innerkip, ONT

8. Joe Gosek Oswego, NY

9. Ken Bell Pennellville, NY

10. Scott Martel Bradford, MASS


1. Gary Drew Otisfield

2. Mike Maietta Sr. So. Portland, ME

3. Bub Bilodeau Standish, ME

4. Scott Moore Anson

5. Scott Robbins Dixfield

6. Jeff Taylor Mercer

7. Glenn Josselyn Farmington

8. Dennis Dee Auburn

9. Tommy Tompkins Carthage

10. Judd Derbyshire Mt. Vernon


1. Ricky Morse St. Albans

2. Shawn Martin Turner

3. Chris Hatstat Stoneham

4. Ron Charpentier Jr. Wales

5. Mike Short Auburn

6. Travis Adams Canton

7. Matt Sanborn W. Baldwin

8. Al Griffin Levant

9. Corey Morgan Bowdoin

10. Jerry Harrison Freeport


1. Don Poulin Jr. Greene

2. Kurt Hewins Leeds

3. Richie Morse Waterford

4. Troy Morse Bridgton

5. Dana Grover Waterford

6. David Raymond Scarborough

7. Tommy Ricker Poland

8. Neil Martin Freeport

9. John Donahue Graniteville, VT

10. Glen Reynolds Westbrook


1. David Tripp Oxford

2. Phil Mitchell III Poland

3. Peter Hafford Minot

4. Jeff Merrill Roxbury

5. Rusty Gaghan Winthrop

6. Bubba Collins New Gloucester

7. Dale Brackett Oxford

8. Gerry Freve Buckfield

9. Mark Newman Mexico

10. Bobby DiPompo Jay


1. Billy Childs Sr. Leeds

2. Billy Childs Jr. Leeds

3. Jim Duguay Greene

4. Shawn Knight So. Paris

5. Larry Emerson Durham

6. Steve Page Leeds

7. Chris Coolidge Norway

8. Darryl Cook Sabattus

9. Sumner Sessions Norway

10. Scott Belskis Dixfield


1. Bill Thibeault Oxford

2. Terry Warren Wilton

3. Steve Barker Jay

4. Chris Morris Auburn

5. Bill Mooney New Gloucester

6. Ted Audet Greene

7. David Mooney New Gloucester

8. Butch Keene Turner

9. Randy Philpot Windham

10. Mark Collins Auburn