CONTACT: BOBBY WALKER 207-539-8865 ops1@megalink.net

August 3, 2002


OXFORD, ME---The old adage that the home track veterans sometime have the upper edge was never truer Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway as Tom Curley brought his highly successful American Canadian Tour to town for the New England Dodge Dealers 100 for Championship Late Model Stock type cars. Ricky Rolfe is the current point leader at Oxford in their almost identical Late Model Stock division entries and with a third place starting position to work with Rolfe was very confident of his chances of winning the prestigious event. After trailing both Phil Scott, the ACT Point Leader and pole sitter Patrick Laperle for the opening laps Rolfe took command of the race before lap 20 and never looked back. Scott who had led for an eight-lap stint then ran second for the duration and Laperle stayed third. Pete Fecteau was fourth and Oxford regular Chris Bowie fifth. The next five in their official order were Eric Williams, Terry Merrill, Steve Miller, Mike Short, and Chad Wheeler. The tally of ACT and OPS cars in the top 10 were four for OPS and six for ACT if that was suppose to mean anything. Rolfe's win also was the second straight for OPS regulars as Ryan Moore won the race in 2001. Only two minor incidents brought out the yellow flag for the quick running 100 lap main event.

Mike Maietta Jr. and Billy Whorff Jr. waged a side by side battle for a dozen laps in the Oxford Network Pro Stock division's 35 lap main event. Whorff started on the outside of the front row and quickly got the upper hand on Dennis Dee at the drop of the green flag. When Dee and several other tangled on lap 11 to bring out the caution flag, the only slow down of the night in Oxford's premier division he faltered but for a lap. Bub Bilodeau was the leader for lap 12 but Whorff retook the spot a lap later. That's when Maietta got serious about posting his third win of the year and we quickly dispatched of the second through sixth place runners. Then he caught Whorff on lap 20 and they raced side by side through lap 32 when Maietta finally got some breathing room. That left Whorff to fend for himself with Scott Moore and Jeff Taylor for the final three circuits around the famed 3/8-mile asphalt oval. Taylor nipped Moore by a couple of inches for the third position with Travis Khiel rounding out the top five. The second five in order were Mike Maietta Sr., Gary Drew, Bilodeau, Gary Pulcifur and Alan Wilson.

John Donahue has had great success in previous seasons at Oxford Plains Speedway, but it was in the Strictly Stock division and of course he's had resounding success at other Northern New England ovals in several other classes of race cars. But this year he's a new rookie in the Limited Sportsman division. It only took four races for the talented driver to post his first 25 lap OPS win in the new surroundings. Three caution laps couldn't stop the Donahue Express from getting his win in front of a large number of Vermonters in the huge Oxford grandstand. Dana Reed made one last valiant effort on lap 22's restart format, but he just didn't have enough horsepower to pull of the win. Richie Morse was a very close third and Skip Stanley raced fourth for most of the race and held the position at the end with Tommy Ricker rounding out the top five.

Gary Davis drove around Peter Hafford on lap six of the opening round of Strictly Stock and even the lap 11 caution flag only delayed his first ever OPS win for a few quick minutes. Brian Dennison moved to second on lap 17 and posted his best ever run at second and Hafford stayed third at the finish. Skip Tripp and Jeff Merrill rounded out the top five. Joe Hutter led the second half of the second offering of Strictly Stock racing. Dale Brackett led the first ten laps and faded to fourth at the finish. Trailing Hutter, it was his second win of the year, was Kim Tripp with Larry Emerson, Brackett and Sumner Sessions the remainder of the top five running order.

The 20 lap Mini Stock finale was a wire to wire win for Wayne Parkin and the race went non-stop as well. A distant second was Rich Sirois who was elated with his first finish of the year and that was a runner-up effort on top of it. Point leader Jeff Moon rounded out the top three and Butch Keene and Steve Barker rounded out the top five. 25 cars took the green flag for the divisions feature race.



1. Ricky Rolfe Albany, ME

2. Phil Scott Montpelier, VT

3. Patrick Laperle St. Denis, PQ

4. Pete Fecteau Morrisville, VT

5. Chris Bowie New Gloucester, ME

6. Eric Williams Hyde Park, VT

7. Terry Merrill Saco, ME

8. Steve Miller New Haven, VT

9. Mike Short Auburn, ME

10. Chad Wheeler Waterbury Center, VT


1. Mike Maietta Jr. So. Portland

2. Billy Whorff Jr. Topsham

3. Jeff Taylor Mercer

4. Scott Moore Anson

5. Travis Khiel Denmark 

6. Mike Maietta Sr. So. Portland

7. Gary Drew Otisfield

8. Bub Bilodeau Standish

9. Gary Pulcifur Gray

10. Alan Wilson Hebron


1. John Donahue Graniteville, VT

2. Dana Reed Shapleigh

3. Richie Morse Waterford

4. Skip Stanley Buckfield

5. Tommy Ricker Poland

6. Glen Reynolds Westbrook 

7. David Raymond Scarborough

8. George White Jr. Dryden

9. Bob Hayslip Lisbon Falls

10. Troy Morse Bridgton


1. Gary Davis Denmark

2. Brian Dennison Norway

3. Peter Hafford Minot

4. Skip Tripp Auburn

5. Jeff Merrill Roxbury

6. Kevin Alden Greene

7. Mark Newman Mexico

8. Roy Lee Weymouth Monmouth

9. Geoff Low So. Paris 

10. Rick Valentine Auburn


1. Joe Hutter Oxford

2. Kim Tripp Oxford

3. Larry Emerson Durham

4. Dale Brackett Oxford

5. Sumner Sessions Norway

6. Steve Page Leeds

7. David Weir Center Conway, NH

8. Todd Bisbee So. Paris

9. Jim Duguay Greene

10. Rusty Gaghan Monmouth


1. Wayne Parkin Wales

2. Rich Sirois Leeds

3. Jeff Moon Gray

4. Butch Keene Turner

5. Steve Barker Jay

6. Terry Warren Wilton

7. Wayne Warren Waterford

8. Joe Treadwell Auburn

9. Bill Thibeault Oxford

10. Craig Moore West Paris