CONTACT: BOBBY WALKER 207-539-8865 ops1@megalink.net

July 27, 2002


OXFORD, ME---Tim Brackett won one on Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway in the Oxford Networks Pro Stocks finale, but he didn't think he'd be any better than fourth as they raced the last lap. Bill Whorff Jr. started on the pole and built up a sizable lead over the first 13 laps before the first of two caution flags would slow the field. The lap 13 incident saw Alan Wilson smack the concrete wall coming off turn four. Wilson walked away from his damaged Chevrolet. Then on lap 23 Bub Bilodeau, who was looking for two straight stalled coming off turn two and sat on the inside of the race track. After the lap 13 restart Glenn Josselyn was in a position to challenge Whorff, but it took time to make the entire package work and just about the time he got into a challenging position the lap 23 caution regrouped them. Again he had to wait about 10 laps for everything to click. Whorff appeared to have his handling package start to go away and they raced side by side for a lap before Josselyn got control of the inside line and Whorff was outside, but still the leader. Josselyn appeared to have the race won as they flew off turn two, it would be his career first at OPS in a Pro Stock car. Justin Belfiore was now third, Brackett fourth, and Travis Kheil fifth, but neither of those three were where they needed to be. As Josselyn and Whorff entered turn three Whorff got a fender into the left rear quarter panel of the leader and Josselyn spun off turn three and four and out of the picture. Whorff got a quick black flag for spinning the leader and when Belfiore lifted off the throttle for a split second Brackett shot through the narrow opening and won by about two feet. Belfiore settled for second and Khiel third. Scott Kind was elevated to fourth and point leader Jeff Taylor would now round out the top five.

Mike Stickney was the surprise winner of the 30 lap Late Model Stock car feature event. After several attempts at completing lap 25 for three crashes it looked like Chris Bowie might get his first ever win. He had passed Stickney on lap 16 to take the lead. T. J. Brackett had driven to second place in the process and those two were headed for the top two spots. With three laps to go Bowie drifted high but recovered. As they came off turn four to the white flag Bowie drifter high again and this time Brackett claimed the inside line. Bowie then tried to reclaim the bottom line and the two made contact and spun off turn one. Stickney then simple allowed the paths to clear and then out ran Ricky Rolfe and Mike Short back to the finish line for his first career LMS win. Corey Morgan and Ricky Morse rounded out the top five.

Doug Poland thought he'd won the Limited Sportsman feature event, but Dana Grover had other ideas and after they raced side by side for about three and a half laps Poland slipped for a second and that gave Grover the opportunity to pull even with a half lap remaining. Poland came off turn four the leader, but lost the win within a few feet of the finish line and Grover's fourth win of the year was by a margin of about one foot, maybe even less. Early race leader Steve Bennett Jr. settled for third with Dana Reed and Tommy Ricker rounding out the top five.

Phil Mitchell III led, gave up the top spot and then reclaimed it on a restart to post his second win of the year in the opening round of a pair of Strictly Stock main events. Sumner Sessions would lead the entire distance to claim the second race. Runner up spots were claimed by David Weir and Darryl Cook while third place finishes were posted by David Vaughn and Larry Emerson. Skip Tripp and Guy Childs were fourth place finishers while David Tripp, no relation, and Gary Davis rounded out the top five.

Don Mooney led wire to wire to win the non stop 20 lap Mini Stock race. His first win of the year was long overdue. Ralph Felker and Steve Barker were side by side at times and finally Felker got control of the runner up spot ahead of Barker. Butch Keene and Bill Mooney completed the top five list.

Chris Pasteryak traveled from Lisbon, Connecticut for the 20 lap NELCAR Legend Cars main event. He got around Bob Weymouth at the mid way mark and then drove to a couple of car lengths of insurance to post his first ever OPS win. His racing father, Charlie from the NASCAR Featherlight Modified Tour ran third. Dan Williams and Richard Doughty rounded out the top five there. 



1. Tim Brackett Oxford

2. Justin Belfiore Haverhill, MASS

3. Travis Khiel Denmark 

4. Scott King Livermore

5. Jeff Taylor Mercer

6. Jeff White Winthrop

7. Judd Derbyshire Mt. Vernon

8. Brad Hammond Turner

9. Gary Drew Otisfield

10. Scott Robbins Dixfield


1. Mike Stickney Wilton

2. Ricky Rolfe Albany

3. Mike Short Auburn

4. Corey Morgan Bowdoin

5. Ricky Morse St. Albans

6. Ron Henry New Gloucester

7. Al Griffin Levant

8. Shawn Martin Turner

9. Henry Hudson III Harrison

10. Chris Bowie New Gloucester


1. Dana Grover Waterford

2. Doug Poland Livermore Falls

3. Steve Bennett Jr. Buckfield

4. Dana Reed Shapleigh

5. Tommy Ricker Poland

6. Bob Hayslip Lisbon Falls

7. Todd Harrison Durham

8. George White Jr. Dryden

9. Glen Reynolds Westbrook 

10. John Donahue Graniteville, VT


1. Phil Mitchell III Poland

2. David Weir Center Conway, NH

3. David Vaughn Naples

4. Skip Tripp Auburn

5. Gary Davis Denmark

6. Todd Bisbee So. Paris

7. Rusty Gaghan Monmouth

8. Mike St. Germain Auburn

9. Brian Dennison Norway

10. Peter Hafford Greene


1. Sumner Sessions Norway

2. Darryl Cook Wales

3. Larry Emerson Durham

4. Guy Childs Poland

5. David Tripp Oxford

6. Chris Coolidge Norway

7. Gerry Burgess Wales

8. Jim Duguay Greene

9. Scott Belskis Dixfield

10. Matt Williams Brownfield


1. Don Mooney New Gloucester

2. Ralph Felker Poland

3. Steve Barker Jay

4. Butch Keene Turner

5. Bill Mooney New Gloucester

6. Terry Warren Wilton

7. Jeff Moon Gray

8. Danny Morris Auburn

9. Wayne Warren Waterford

10. David Mooney New Gloucester


1. Chris Pasteryak Lisbon, CONN

2. Bob Weymouth Topsham

3. Charlie Pasteryak Lisbon, CONN

4. Dan Williams Boothbay

5. Richard Doughty Northboro, MASS