CONTACT: BOBBY WALKER 207-539-8865 ops1@megalink.net

June 8, 2002


OXFORD, ME---Kevin Kimball and Glen Luce raced hard and side by side and swapped the lead six times, five of them in the final eight laps in the Saturday night Pro Stock finale at Oxford Plains Speedway. Luce started on the pole and led the first 27 laps, including the restarts for three caution flags. Those came out on laps one, three and twenty-two. Kevin Kimball started sixth in the 26 car grid and was a top three factor for the entire 35 lap distance. After racing side by side from lap 22 when Kimball got his chance to challenge for the duration of the race the excitement started to unfold on lap 27 when Kimball led for the first time. On lap 28 Luce was the leader by about two feet and on lap 29 it was Kimball by about the same margin. On lap 30 it was Luce's turn to lead the event. Meanwhile the third through 17th position were closely grouped in a formation that could be covered by a big wide blanket and only a couple of lengths behind the top three battle that had third place racer Dennis Spencer poised to move up if the opening became available. From lap 30 to 33 Luce kept the lead, but by something that swapped a distance of two to three feet at any one point around the race track. On lap 34 Kimball was the official leader, but by something less than four feet at the start / finish line. By the time the checkered flag fell it was Kimball by something called less than a car length and Spencer was still glued to their bumper hoping for second, but he too fell short. Jeff Taylor and Scott Moore were swapping fourth and fifth spots for about a half dozen laps and so were most of the remaining spots within the top ten of the running order. Kimball becomes the sixth different winner in as many weeks at Oxford and nobody has posted two wins as yet. Last weeks winner Mike Maietta Jr. rounded out the top ten.

Two weeks ago Ron Henry destroyed his Late Model Stock Pontiac when the throttle stuck during the practice session. He returned last week with a new race car, but was still stiff and sore from the ordeal and settled for a back marker finish. Saturday night the pole position starting spot Henry had time to heal his wounds and a much better running race car. He led the non-stop 30 lap run with plenty of room to spare. Wal-Mart Rookie of the Year point leader Terry Merrill posted his second runner-up finish of the year. "We had a great race car, but I needed a caution to see if we had anything for Ron tonight," said a very happy, but wondering Merrill in victory lane. Corey Morgan made it two straight podium finished in a row with a third place run on this night. Travis Adams was hoping to make it two straight, but settled for fourth and point leader Ricky Rolfe rounded out the top five.

If fans thought the Pro Stock main event was exciting, the nightcap event was the Limited Sportsman 25 lap feature event and the outcome was far from what fans saw at the completion of lap 23. Skip Stanley had started on the pole and was poised for his first ever OPS win. He led up until lap 23 by a length over Kurt Hewins who had charged to the front from his seventh position on the starting grid. Coming off turn two Stanley got bumped by Steve Bennett, which sent Stanley spinning to the infield and Bennett getting a black flag for causing the incident. Hewins inherited the lead, but he got loose off turn four which let Richie Morse, the two time division champion and current point leader, take the top spot. Shane Green who got back into the fray after the lap 16 restart let him make up 3/4 of a lap after spinning himself on lap seven. He then moved to second, much to his surprise and Tommy Ricker who figured he'd finish no better than sixth with two to go ended up third. Kenny Harrison also spun on lap 16 to bring out the caution and he ended up fourth after a couple of car spun on lap 24. Dana Reed rounded out the top five.

David Vaughn returned to victory lane in Strictly Stock for the first time in several years as he led all 20 laps, even with a restart on lap 14 for an incident that collected challenger Jon Brill and two other cars. With Wayne Reynolds glued to his back bumper for just about the entire 20 lap distance Vaughn never faltered once. Skip Tripp ran third with Mike Sprague and Todd Breton rounding out the top five.

Only a lap four restart slowed the progress of the second Strictly Stock 20 lap feature, a total of 54 cars jammed the Oxford Plains pit area for the night, and this event was a Sumner Sessions benefit race. He pulled away in the first four laps and then did the same on the restart and Joe Hutter could only watch the #0 pull away as each lap completed the process. Hutter stayed second and Billy Childs Jr. made it three straight top three finishes with third place. He was only a hand full of lengths ahead of Kevin Martin who ran fourth and Guy Childs who settled for fifth.

Bill Thibeault has lost motors, had over heating problems and a few other misfortunes to add to his woes turned the season completely around with a non stop win in the 20 lap Mini Stock main event. "My luck was so bad this year that I even gave a thought to taking up fishing, but I'm glad I stuck it out now," said the jubilant winner in Sun Journal victory lane. Don Wallace was elevated to runner up honors when Butch Keene's transmission failed to pass inspection. That made the new top five finishing order Craig Moore, Terry Warren and Joe Treadwell.



1. Kevin Kimball So. Portland

2. Glen Luce Turner

3. Dennis Spencer Jr. Turner

4. Jeff Taylor Mercer

5. Scott Moore Anson

6. Scott Robbins Dixfield

7. Judd Derbyshire Mt. Vernon

8. Glenn Josselyn Farmington

9. Alan Wilson Hebron

10. Mike Maietta Jr. So. Portland


1. Ron Henry New Gloucester

2. Terry Merrill Saco

3. Corey Morgan Bowdoin

4. Travis Adams Canton

5. Ricky Rolfe Albany

6. Tim Cook Poland

7. Jerry Harrison Freeport

8. Ron Charpentier Jr. Wales

9. Don Wentworth Bridgton

10. T. J. Brackett Oxford


1. Richie Morse Waterford

2. Shane Green So. Paris

3. Tommy Ricker Poland

4. Kenny Harrison Pownal

5. Dana Reed Shapleigh

6. Dana Grover Waterford

7. Bob Hayslip Lisbon

8. Greg Garnett Lisbon

9. Todd Harrison Durham

10. Kurt Hewins Leeds


1. David Vaughn Naples

2. Wayne Reynolds Norway

3. Skip Tripp Auburn

4. Mike Sprague Greene

5. Todd Breton Auburn

6. David Weir Center Conway, NH

7. Gerry Burgess Wales

8. Todd Bisbee So. Paris

9. Geoff Low So. Paris

10. Larry LaMere Oxford


1. Sumner Sessions Norway

2. Joe Hutter Oxford

3. Billy Childs Jr. Leeds

4. Kevin Martin So. Paris

5. Guy Childs Lisbon

6. Jim Duguay Greene

7. Chris Corliss Freeport

8. Dennis Dee Auburn

9. Travis Mains Freeport

10. Mark Bowie Mechanic Falls


1. Billy Thibeault Oxford

2. Don Wallace Gray

3. Craig Moore West Paris

4. Terry Warren Wilton

5. Joe Treadwell Auburn

6. Wayne Warren Waterford

7. Steve Barker Jay

8. Danny Morris Auburn

9. Chris Morris Auburn

10. Bobby Mooney New Gloucester


Saturday June 15, 2002

New England Dodge Dealers LMS 100

100 Lap Late Model Stock 100

and Weekly Racing Series