CONTACT: BOBBY WALKER 207-539-8865 ops1@megalink.net


OXFORD, ME---Scott Robbins of Dixfield, Maine watched his first True Value 250 from the Grandstands in 1981 and vowed that some day he's race in the nationally recognized summer classic at Oxford Plains Speedway. A year ago he finished second and said he didn't look at the money as a winner, but the honor of having your name affixed to the trophy that bore the names of legends like Lindley, Dion, Biederman, Rowe, Nason, and others. Sunday night the driver of a Ford Taurus race car pocketed $36,900 and added his name to that same trophy he wished he could earn.

Joe Bessey started on the pole by virtue of winning the first of the six heat races it took to start the qualifying process for the 84 cars that were running at 2 PM. Two had been withdrawn because engine failure. Dave Gatchell and Dale Shaw both lost engines in the morning practice session. Bessey lined up beside Scott Fraser of Schebenacadie, Nova Scotia, Canada who won heat number two. Fraser rocketed away on the restart to begin lap two and built up a sizeable lead before crashing out of the race on lap ninety. That put Ben Rowe of Turner, Maine on the point but his tires began to give up and he turned the lead over to 1996's winner, Larry Gelinas of Scarborough, Maine. Gelinas then gave up the lead to Robbins as he pitted for tires and gas. Robbins had pitted on the previous caution flag period. Ralph Nason had gone down a lap in the early going, but got it back when Fraser crashed. After the caution flag, the fifth and final slow down of the 250 green flag lap spectacular Nason had since worked his way to second and Robbins was prepared for the showdown. "Ralph bumped me in the door a couple of times under caution just to rattle me and I kind of expected that so I wasn't shook up at all," said Robbins in the post race press conference. Mike Rowe, the two time True Value 250 champion and seven time OPS track champion, moved to second at about the 50 to go mark and the chase was on. With 25 to go Rowe was within three seconds of the leader and with 10 to go the margin was cut to two second. With five to go it was a matter of car lengths and with the white flag flying it was about three lengths, but that as close as he could narrow it. Rowe was on a set of tires that was a bit fresher than those of Robbins which probably explains his late race charge. 18 year old Ryan Moore was third and Alan Wilson made it two straight years of finishing fourth. Wilson had to win the non-qualifiers race to make it into the True Value 250 and started 37th in the 43 car field. Gelinas worked his way back to fifth at the finish and barely beat out Ben Rowe who was sixth. The remainder of the top ten included Louie Mechalides, Chuck Lachance, Nason, and Jeff Taylor.

The Limited Sportsman winner was Kenny Harrison who won for the second straight night. David Tripp and Matt Williams won the two Strictly Stock races with Williams win a career first. Ted Audet won the Mini Stock special.



1. Scott Robbins Dixfield

2. Mike Rowe Turner

3. Ryan Moore Scarborough

4. Alan Wilson Hebron

5. Larry Gelinas Scarborough

6. Ben Rowe Turner

7. Louie Mechalides Tyngsboro, MASS

8. Chuck Lachance Cushing

9. Ralph Nason Unity

10. Jeff Taylor Mercer

11. Scott Moore Anson

12. Gary Drew Otisfield

13. Henry Hudson III Harrison

14. Andy Shaw Center Conway, NH

15. Sam Sessions Norway

16. Mike Maietta Jr. Scarborough

17. Tim Brackett Oxford

18. Mike Maietta Sr. Scarborough

19. Richard Pelton Scarborough

20. Scott Chubbuck Wiscassett

21. Joe Bessey Rangley

22. Jim Emerson Windham

23. Jerry Babb Windham

24. Cassius Clark Farmington

25. Billy Penfold Yarmouth

26. Dick Houlihan Berkley, MASS

27. Kirk Thibeau Fort Fairfield

28. Bill Whorff Jr. Topsham

29. Jeff White Winthrop

30. Tom Rosati Agawam, MASS

31. Tommy Tompkins Carthage

32. Jamie Aube Manchester, NH

33. Bill Rodgers Old Orchard Beach

34. Ricky Morse St. Albans

35. Scott Fraser Schubenacadie, NS

36. Judd Derbyshire Mt. Vernon

37. Jeff Burgess Oakland

38. Scott Watts Seabrook, NH

39. Steve Reny Boothbay

40. Gary Smith Bangor

41. Tracy Gordon Strong

42. Chuck Bown Portland, OR

43. Travis Khiel Denmark


1. Kenny Harrison Pownal

2. Don Poulin Jr. Greene

3. Shane Green So. Paris

4. Steve Bennett Jr. Buckfield

5. David Raymond Scarborough

6. Richie Morse Waterford

7. Joey Pastore Gorham

8. Tommy Ricker Poland

9. Neil Martin Freeport

10. Troy Morse Bridgton


1. David Tripp Oxford

2. Phil Mitchell III Poland

3. David Vaughn Naples

4. Shawn Knight So. Paris

5. Jeff Merrill Roxbury

6. Josh May Harrison

7. Scott Belskis Dixfield

8. Guy Childs Lisbon

9. Rusty Gaghan Winthrop

10. Brian Dennison Norway


1. Matt Williams Brownfield

2. Larry Emerson Durham

3. Kim Tripp Oxford

4. Chris Coolidge Norway

5. Jim Duguay Greene

6. Gerry Burgess Wales

7. Mark Theriault Rumford

8. Steve Page Leeds

9. Billy Childs Jr. Leeds

10. Skip Tripp Auburn


1. Ted Audet Greene

2. Billy Thibeault Oxford

3. Jeff Moon Gray

4. Butch Keene Turner

5. Ralph Felker Poland

6. Wayne Parkin Wales

7. Terry Warren Wilton

8. Dennis Scribner Otisfield

9. Craig Moore West Paris

10. Wayne Warren Waterford