For immediate release
Contact: Sherrie Fleury-Lanou

Daniels, Brousseau, Fellows, Bergeron, Harris, and Rogers Claremont
Speedway Champions
Claremont, NH (September 9, 2002): The LaValley’s Building Supply NASCAR
Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge 2002 racing season came to a
close this past Saturday at Claremont Speedway. Peter Daniels captured
the win and the championship in the KIXX 100.5 Modifieds. Mike Parks won
the last feature in the Cellular One Pro Stocks while Mike Brousseau
captured the division championship. Aaron Fellows successfully defended
his Dunkin Donuts Late Model championship and Brian Sears closed the
season with a win in the division. Ed LaQuire’s fifth win of the season
in the ASETEX Tire & Auto Street Stocks wasn’t enough to win the
division title, which Chris Bergeron claimed a week earlier. Rick Bly
won for the second time in the ABC Motors Mini Stocks, but it was Walt
Harris who cinched up the division championship. Joe Rogers successfully
defended his Fleming Texaco Lightning Stock championship and Bubba
Hussey won the night’s feature.

Peter Daniels captured his fourteenth win of the season on Saturday
night with a pass on Jack Bateman as the pair came across the line to
take the white flag. The pass saw contact between the pair and Daniels
airborne over Bateman’s left side tires. But, when he landed, Daniels
gathered it up and raced to the checkers. Bateman had damage and had to
limp to the checkers. Kirby Monteith turned in another solid finish in
second followed by Dwight Jarvis, Jim Storace, and Bruce Batchelder
rounding out the top five. The championship is Daniels third in the
Modifieds at Claremont. Jim Storace became the Rookie of the Year.

Bucky Demers looked to be on his way to another victory in the Pro
Stocks after passing Mike Brousseau early in the race. As Demers
approached the white flag, Walt Hammond spun him in turn three. With a
green white checker scenario, Mike Parks became the luckiest guy of the
night by inheriting the lead and holding on for the win. Dave Davis
finished a solid second followed by Mike Brousseau, Jim Boniface, and
Brad Coll rounding out the top five. Brousseau captured the division
championship. Paul Stoddard is the division’s Rookie of the Year.

Monica Rook and Dick Lamontte put a huge gap between themselves and the
rest of the field in the Late Models and look as if they would finish
one-two. But, with seven to go, Lamontte got into the back of Rook and
sent her around. The pair now found themselves at the rear of the pack.
Brian Sears had the lead on the restart and held on at the checkers in
one of the tightest finishes of the season. Andy Courchesne finished
second followed by Larry Riendeau, Aaron Fellows, and Jamien Deschenes.
Fellows captured the championship for the second year in a row and
Deschenes is the Rookie of the Year.

Ed LaQuire captured his fifth win of the season in the Street Stock
division holding off Doug Marsh, Chris Bergeron, Mark McClay, and Erik
Smith. Bergeron held the point lead from the first checkers of the
season until the last. Fred Rogers is the 2002 Street Stock Rookie of
the Year.

Rick Bly held off a charging field of Mini Stocks to capture his second
win of the season. Rookie of the Year Dave Crouteau finished second
followed by John Ross Jr, April May Gelineau, and the division champion
for the 2002 season Walt Harris.

Joe Rogers successfully defended his title in the Lightning Stocks even
though he didn’t have his best finish of the season. Bubba Hussey won
the feature followed by Skip Harvey, Rookie of the Year Ty Lescord, Zach
Lamott, and Mike Burke rounding out the top five.

The next event for Claremont Speedway will be the banquet on November
9th at the Lake Morey Resort in Fairlee, VT. For more information about
this event, call the track at 603-543-3160. Tickets are on sale now and
a limited number of rooms are available at a discounted rate. For more
information about Claremont Speedway, log on to