Sylvain Lacombe Takes McDonalds 100 At Airborne

Plattsburgh, NY - - Sylvain Lacombe of Terrebonne, Quebec got the best of Phil Scott on a lap 85 restart, then drew away in the final laps to win the McDonalds 100-lap Late Model main event at Airborne Raceway. It was a huge turnaround for Lacombe, who had been hung outside early and fallen as far back as 14th after starting third.

The complexion of the race was dramatically altered on lap 85 when Scott Dragon, tried to repeat an inside move that got him past his cousin Brent for second three laps earlier. He got into the rear deck of leader Eric Williams instead, and sent him around, collecting fourth place Jamie Fisher in the process.

Dragon was put on the rear, setting the stage for the Lacombe-Scott shootout. Fred LaGoy made his way into third over the final 10 laps. Dave Whitcomb wound up fourth, four car lengths ahead of Brent Dragon in fifth.

Former Airborne champion Mike Bruno led the first 38 laps, all green, with Brent Dragon close by, but Bruno was sent to the rear for being too aggressive in lapped traffic and opted to withdraw instead. Dragon led until a lap 58 restart, when Williams blasted by and took control.

Chris Fisher after lengthy duels with his brother Jamie, got home sixth. Positions 7-10 went to Scott Dragon, Mark Lamberton, Jean-Paul Cyr and Yvon Bedard. Lacombe, Bruno and Brent Dragon were the Late Model heat winners.

Lee Ryea won his first Renegade feature of the year, despite getting reeled in by runner-up Greg Wolcott, who finished second at Ryea's bumper. Don Franklin was the official third place car following the disqualification of Brian McGinley.

Plattsburgh's Mike Criss, Brian Rogers and Terry Beshaw were 1, 2, 3 in the McDonald's Street Stock trophy dash.