Branham's Loss, Webb's Gain at Airborne

For Immediate Release AR44-080502

Plattsburgh, NY - - Jay Webb won his second NAPA Flying Tiger feature of the season Saturday at Airborne Raceway after breakaway leader Bucko Branham went up in smoke near the halfway mark. Scott Payea, who was racing at Webb's bumper when the rear end let go on Branham's Whitbeck Associates Realty LeBaron, was second, followed by Jerry Winch, Jamy Begor and Craig Bushey.

Bushey has moved into a first-place tie with Joe Becker in the Airborne championship point standings. Becker won his heat race Saturday, but pitted with a flat tire on the white flag lap and wound up 18th. Positions 6-10 went to Jason Bonnett, George Wight, Jason Branham, Bill Sawyer and David Warren.

The Street Stock checkers went to Dustin Criss of Plattsburgh, who sat well-positioned in third while Brian Reyell and Charlie Farnsworth fought for the lead. Farnsworth lost an engine and Reyell slowed off the pace, leaving Criss at the point, two car lengths ahead of Curtis LaGrave. Airborne Street stock point leader Jamie Rabideau staged a late race rally for third. Jeff Young and Justin St Louis finished fourth and fifth.

Mike Wells, the all-time Renegade win leader (8), struck again in the Renegade main. Wells got his Garceau Auto/rust Away Towing sponsored Buick Regal home two car lengths ahead of runner-up Shawn Duquette. Richie Turner, Joey Roberts and Robert Gordon filled out the top five.