Craig Bushey Powers To Airborne Subway 100 Win

For Immediate Release - ARH060202  Photos by Dave Brown

Plattsburgh, NY - - NAPA Flying Tiger Craig Bushey of Cambridge won the Subway 100 convincingly at Airborne Raceway on Saturday. Bushey started on the pole of the longest-ever Flying Tiger event on the Plattsburgh half-mile, and led 99 of 100 laps. Forty-six NAPA Flying Tiger were in the Airborne pits for the opening round of the ACT Subway "Grand Slam" Series.

Bushey's K&R Automotive Olds Ciera was able to keep former Airborne champions Jimmy Young and Jerry Winch at bay on several restarts over the second half of the race. His bigger obstacle was lapped traffic, but he came through a scrape against a back marker on lap 97 unharmed. Bushey's dominance included wins in his heat and the semi-feature.

Young, Winch and Joe Becker placed 2, 3, and 4, well ahead of Skip Liberty, who outlasted Jamy Begor for fifth. Positions 7-10 went to David Warren, Jeremy Dewyea, Mike Terry and Reno Gervais. Doug Murphy, powered by a prototype ACT Flying Tiger spec engine, started 33rd and raced home 11th.

Mike Wells of West Chazy, NY moved to the top of the Renegade winner's list all-time with his sixth career victory. Wells took the checkers in the Garceau's Auto Buick No. 76 ahead of runner-up Dan Turner and apparent third-place finisher Scott Reynolds. When Reynolds failed the tech line, it moved David Rabtoy into third. The Ryea brothers, Dan and Lee, completed the top five.

The Street Stock feature finish continues to be listed as "unofficial". The first five drivers across the line were Jamie Rabideau, Jim Bushey, Curtis LaGrave, Tery Beshaw and Mike Holmes.

The next event in the Subway Grand Slam Series is Sunday, June 23 at Canaan USA Speedway in Canaan, NH. Airborne Raceway resumes regular season action with Flying Tigers, Street Stocks and Renegades, this Saturday, June 8 at 7 pm.