Ryan Moore's Late Rally Gains ACT 100 Win At White Mountain

North Woodstock, NH - - Nineteen year-old Ryan Moore of Scarborough, Me took advantage of lapped traffic, passed Jacob McGrath for the lead on lap 80, and went on to win the ACT Dodge Tour 100 Saturday night at White Mountain Motorsports Park. McGrath briefly surrendered second place to Jamie Fisher, then regained the spot and finished three car lengths behind Moore. The victory was Moore's first of the season and the second of his ACT career.

Fisher held off ACT Dodge Tour point leader Phil Scott for third. Scott Dragon, in contention throughout the race, was fifth. Dwayne Lanphear, who had risen from 20th, passed Dragon on lap 97, but drew a black flag in the process and was officially scored 17th.

"I kept the pressure on McGrath for a long time, but he didn't crack," Moore said. "When we got in lapped traffic, I knew it was time to make another move to the outside and it worked out."

Buzzie Bezanson, Rich Lowrey, Jean-Paul Cyr, Brent Dragon and Joey Laquerre completed the top ten. Canadian Patrick Laperle, second in points on the ACT Dodge Tour, started 22nd and finished 13th. Fred LaGoy of Morrisonville, NY an earlier winner in his heat and the semi-feature, started on the pole alongside McGrath, but had handing problems early.

The race's second and final caution flew on lap 42, when Dave Whitcomb lost a wheel. McGrath and Moore were on the front row of the restart, with the Dragon cousins, Scott and Brent, in row two and Fisher and Todd Stone in row three. As the race went back under green, Stone began to struggle and Phil Scott and Rich Lowrey moved into contention.

Scott's fourth place finish was his eighth top-5 in 14 starts. He leads Laperle, unofficially, 1217-1129 heading into the 39th New England Dodge Dealers Milk Bowl at Thunder Road this Sunday, September 29.

ACT Dodge Tour 100

White Mountain Park, No. Woodstock, NH

Sept 21, 2002


1.Ryan Moore, Scarborough, Me (7)

2.Jacob McGrath, Mendon, Vt (2)

3.Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, Vt (12)

4.Phil Scott, Montpelier, Vt (18)

5.Scott Dragon, Milton, Vt (9)

6.Buzzie Bezanson, Plaistow, NH (14)

7.Rich Lowrey, Charlotte, Vt (16)

8.Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton, Vt (26)

9.Brent Dragon, Milton, Vt (10)

10.Joey Laquerre, E Montpelier, Vt (11)

11.Dave Pembroke, Montpelier, Vt (19)

12.Eric Williams, Hyde Park, Vt (15)

13.Patrick Laperle, St Denis, Que (22)

14.Pete Fecteau, Morrisville, Vt (21)

15.Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt (4)

16.Cris Michaud, Northfield, Vt (24)

17.Dwayne Lanphear, Morrisville, Vt (20)

18.Sylvain Lacombe, Terrebonne, Que (23)

19.Chad Wheeler, Waterbury, Vt (25)

20.Steve Miller, New Haven, Vt (5)

21.Dave Wilcox, Enosburg, Vt (3)

22.Fred LaGoy, Morrisonville, NY (1)

23.Ken Dufour, Bethlehem, NH (6)

24.Dave Whitcomb, Essex Jct, Vt (13)

25.Victor Johnson, Troy, NH (17)

26.John Donahue, Graniteville, Vt (8)

Heat Winners: Jacob McGrath, Fred LaGoy, Steve Miller, Scott Dragon

Semi-Feature Winner: Fred LaGoy