Rolfe Gets Into The ACT At Oxford Plains

For Immediate Release ACT55-080402

Oxford, Me - - Ricky Rolfe of Stoneham, Me bested ACT Dodge Tour point leader Phil Scott in a duel through lapped traffic to win the New England Dodge Dealers 100 Saturday at Oxford Plains Speedway. Rolfe, the Oxford Late Model point leader, showed why when he swept to the outside of Scott and Patrick Laperle for the lead on lap 17. He held it until he drifted very high out of turn four on lap 68 and Scott slipped past. Rolfe gathered himself in before Laperle could make a move of his own, then four laps later, regained the lead for keeps.

Scott, Laperle and Rolfe started 2, 3, and 4 on the 36-car grid after winning qualifying heats. Pole sitter Steve Fisher made a go of it for a dozen laps before Laperle worked underneath him and brought Scott and Rolfe along.

Defending ACT champion Pete Fecteau raced from 14th to finish fourth, fifth went to Oxford regular Chris Bowie. Eric Williams, number two in the ACT standings, was sixth, just ahead of rookie Terry Merrill, who came from 30th to finish seventh. Steve Miller, Mike Short and Chad Wheeler completed the top ten. Oxford standout Travis Adams was running fourth and gaining on Laperle when sidelined by rear end problems on lap 68.

The race was competitive throughout the field and well-driven with only two cautions, although Rolfe, Scott and Laperle forged a comfortable lead over the rest of the field in the late going.

"I could race with him (Rolfe) in traffic," said Scott, "but when he got some open room, he'd pull away. If he hadn't of saved it there when he went high and got of shape, I maybe could have won it, but this feels good. It keeps us where we want to be." Scott has seven top-5's in eleven races and has never finished out of the top 10. He leads Williams, unofficially, by 110 points with four events remaining.

Dwayne Lanphear, second in points at the outset, started 8th and finished 11th. Ron Henry of New Gloucester, Me came from 21st to finish 12th. Rolfe's win was the second straight ACT event taken by an Oxford regular. Ryan Moore, now on the ACT circuit, won the 2001 event and went to capture the 2001 OPS Late Model title, a feat Rolfe may duplicate.

The ACT Dodge Tour moves to Riverside Speedway in Groveton, NH on Saturday, August 10.

ACT Dodge Tour - Oxford Plains

New England Dodge Dealers 100

1. Ricky Rolfe, Stoneham, Me (3)

2. Phil Scott, Montpelier, Vt (4)

3. Patrick Laperle, St Denis, Que (2)

4. Pete Fecteau, Morrisville, Vt (14)

5. Chris Bowie, New Gloucester, Me (9)

6. Eric Williams, Morrisville, Vt (6)

7. Terry Merrill, Saco, Me (30)

8. Steve Miller, New Haven, Vt (24)

9. Mike Short, Auburn, Me (20)

10.Chad Wheeler, Waterbury, Vt (13)

11.Dwayne Lanphear, Morrisville, Vt (8)

12.Ron Henry, Oxford, Me (21)

13.Mike Edgbert, Hollis, Me (11)

14.Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, Vt (22)

15.Eric Chase, Milton, Vt (23)

16.Dave Pembroke, Montpelier, Vt (29)

17.Corey Morgan, Bowdoin, Me (25)

18.Cooper MacRitchie, W'mstown, Vt (26)

19.Mike Stickney, Wilton, Me (5)

20.Ryan Moore, Scarborough, Me (17)

21.Brent Dragon, Milton, Vt (15)

22.Jean Cyr, Milton, Vt (32)

23.Fred LaGoy, Morrisonville, NY (16)

24.Joey Laquerre, E Montpelier, Vt (27)

25.Todd Stone, Middlebury, Vt (33)

26.Scott Dragon, Milton, Vt (28)

27.Cris Michaud, Northfield, Vt (34)

28.Jacob McGrath, Mendon, Vt (31)

29.Dave Wilcox, Enosburg, Vt (35)

30.Steve Fisher, Shelburne, Vt (1)

31.Al Griffin, Levant, Me (36)

32.Frank Snow, Bridgton, Me (7)

33.Travis Adams, Canton, Me (19)

34.Henry Hudson, Harrison, Me (12)

35.TJ Brackett, Oxford, Me (10)

36.Ken Dufour, Bethlehem, NH (18)