Sylvain Lacombe Powers To First ACT Win At Ste-Croix

For Immediate Release ACT43-063002

Ste-Croix, Quebec - - Sylvain Lacombe, 40, of Terrebonne, Que, won an ACT Dodge Tour event for the first time, convincingly, before a packed house Saturday night at Circuit Ste-Croix. Lacombe started 26th in a 37-car field and 

ACT Dodge Tour winner Sylvain Lacombe (33) battles Dave Wilcox (16) at Ste-Croix

took the lead to stay from Todd Stone on a lap 60 restart. The race, which had been plagued by multiple cautions to that point, went green for the next 37 laps and Lacombe drew out to a long lead. A restart on lap 97 proved no problem for Lacombe, while behind him, Stone and fellow Canadian Patrick Laperle fought for second with Stone prevailing.

Eric Williams and ACT Dodge Tour point leader Phil Scott, from 23rd, finished 4th and 5th, respectively. Local favorites Jacques Laperle, Alexandre Gingras and Yvon Bedard took spots 6, 7, and 8. Dwayne Lanphear and Joey Laquerre completed the top ten.

(l-r) Todd Stone (2nd), Sylvain Lacombe (1st), Patrick Laperle (3rd)

The 100-lap contest took its toll early and often. ACT regulars Dave Wilcox, Chad Wheeler, Jimmy Winters, and Cooper MacRitchie were among the early victims. Rich Lowrey, third in ACT points at the outset, settled for 24th. Jean-Paul Cyr, winner of his heat and the semi-feature also exited early and wound up 26th.

Stone led laps 33-40 and 43-59, but once Lacombe got ahead of him, his bigger concern was Laperle. Laperle's late rally earned him his third straight top-3 finish and kept him within striking distance of Scott heading into Saturday's (July 6) True Value 150 at Airborne Raceway in Plattsburgh, NY.

ACT Dodge Tour

Circuit Ste-Croix, Ste-Croix, Quebec

June 29, 2002

1. Sylvain Lacombe, Terrebonne, Que (26)

2. Todd Stone, Middlebury, VT (9)

3. Patrick Laperle, St Denis, Que (20)

4. Eric Williams, Hyde Park, VT (13)

5. Phil Scott, Montpelier, VT (23)

6. Jacques Laperle, St-Denis, Que (28)

7. Alexandre Gingras, Ste-Foy, Que (25)

8. Yvon Bedard, Ste-Nicolas, Que (27)

9. Dwayne Lanphear, Morrisville, VT (21)

10.Joey Laquerre, East Montpelier, VT (8)

11.Patrick Cliche, St-Jean-Chrysostome, Que (34)

12.Karl Allard, Ste-Felicien, Que (31)

13.Steven Boissoneault, Lyster, Que (33)

14.Stephen Bouchard, St-Nicolas, Que (24)

15.Brent Dragon, Milton, VT (16)

16.Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT (5)

17.Alain Maltais, Chibougamou, Que (29)

18.Ryan Moore, Scarborough, ME (11)

19.Steve Miller, New Haven, VT (18)

20.Pete Fecteau, Morrisville, VT (19)

21.Herb Drugg, Troy, NH (2)

22.Scott Dragon, Milton, VT (23)

23.Cris Michaud, Northfield, VT (3)

24.Rich Lowrey, Charlotte, VT (15)

25.Marc Begin, St-Philbert, Que (36)

26.Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton, VT (12)

27.Jimmy Winters, St James, NY (1)

28.Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, NY (22)

29.Dave Wilcox, Enosburg, VT (4)

30.Donald Theetge, Boichatel, Que (32)

31.Dave Pembroke, Montpelier, VT (7)

32.Mike Bruno, Castleton, VT (10)

33.Martin Lacombe, Terrebonne, Que (30)

34.Eric Chase, Milton, VT (37)

35.Cooper MacRitchie, Williamstown, VT (6)

36.Jean Gagne, Laval, Que (35)

37.Chad Wheeler, Waterbury, VT (14)